Journalism in Goa, India – B.A. in Journalism

Home » 2012 » December

Monthly Archives: December 2012


1000+ Runners participate in Xavierathon

Over 1000 athletes and fitness enthusiasts participated in Xavierathon 2012 – a 6km marathon organized by St. Xavier’s College Mapusa in association with SK Promotions, on the auspicious occasion of Goa Liberation Day.
St. Xavier’s College has organized this kind of an event for the first time as a part of their Golden Jubilee celebrations. The race was flagged-off by Ms. Alina Saldanha, Minister for Environment & Forest and also an alumna of the college. Earlier in her address to the participants, Ms. Saldanha urged the runners to overcome the six kilometre test. “This run will be a test of endurance, perseverance and focus. Overcome it and feel the sense of achievement and victory. It’s not about finishing first, but it’s more important to complete the race,” she stated.
The race flagged-off from the college premises. The runners followed a route that led them towards the Mapusa court, Remanso Hospital, Milagres Church and across the highway, straight to Fransalian Institute, Bastora which is the old campus of St. Xavier’s College. The route back was similar beside a small bifurcation near the Milagres Church.
Runners from all age groups participated with a lot of zeal as all the participants completed the race. The event and the public in general also witnessed a 78-year old woman Mrs. Maria Imelda De Souza, participate in the marathon and also completed the race. Similarly, a 4-year boy Sarthak Vijay Bhike also completed the race in style.
From among the numerous runners, Jeovito Fernandes of St. Xavier’s College completed the race first as he emerged champion in the men’s open category.
Winners in different categories:
Men’s Open Category:
1st Place: Jeovito Fernandes (St. Xavier’s College, Mapusa)
2nd Place: Ajay Vishwakarma (St. Anthony’s HS, Duler)
3rd Place: Anthony Carvalho (St. Xavier’s College, Mapusa)
Women’s Open Category:
1st Place: Prachita Naik (St. Xavier’s HSS)
2nd Place: Siddhi Chavan (St. Anthony’s HS, Duler)
3rd Place: Rosaria Rebello
School & HSS Boy’s Category:
1st Place: Mangesh Kadam (ITI Pernem)
2nd Place: Arun Gobicha (Sacred Heart HS, Parra)
School & HSS Girl’s Category:
1st Place: Geeta Mutugur (Sacred Heart HS, Parra)
2nd Place: Seema Karatta (Sacred Heart HS, Parra)
Oldest Runner
Mrs. Maria Imelda De Souza (Age: 78 years)
Mr. Bhiku Azgaonkar (Age: 63 years)
Youngest Runner
Sarthak Vijay Bhike (Age: 4 years, Divine Mercy HS)
The prize distribution ceremony was clubbed along with the flag hoisting ceremony in the college campus. Chief Guest alumnus of the college, Adv. Ramakant Khalap, Former Union Minister for Law & Judiciary hoisted the flag. On the occasion, students of the college put up various programmes like group song, street play, and monologue.
Adv. Khalap in his speech brought back his memories of the college and ignited students to be better citizens. “Use this institute as a platform to be better human beings who can serve the nation better,” he encouraged the students of the college.
Mr. Saif Ullah Khan, Councillor, Mormugao Municipal Council, Mr. Santosh Redkar, Social Worker and Mr. Vijay Bhike, treasurer of the Alumni Association of St. Xavier’s College, also graced the occasion with their presence.